Writer Resources

Blogs, links, and other resources we want to share with you!

-NaNoWriMo’s Young Writers Program (ywp.nanowrimo.org)

-The Children’s Poetry Archive (childrenspoetryarchive.org)

-826 Valencia, Dave Eggers’ center for young writers (826valencia.org)

-Bay Area Writing Project, classes for teen writers in Berkeley & San Francisco (bayareawritingproject.org)

-National Writing Project (nwp.org)

-Classroom Matters, classes and individual support in all types of writing (classroommatters.com)

-Scholastic, Story Starter page with a roulette wheel for story ideas by genre (scholastic.com/teachers/story-starters)

-Creative Everyday Challenge (creativeeveryday.com)

-The Poetry Foundation (poetryfoundation.org)

-ReadWriteThink (readwritethink.org)

-The New York Times‘ Learning Network (learning.blogs.nytimes.com)

-Imagination Soup, “bite-sized wisdom for thinking parents” (imaginationsoup.net)

-Creative writing links, resources, games, and more for kids (kidsonthenet.org.uk)

-Read writing by other kids, or sign-up and publish your own! (kidpub.com)

-Karen Benke’s Rip the Page! creative writing workbook (karenbenke.com)

 -Magnetic Poetry, a site where kids can play around with an online set of “magnetic” words to create stories and poems. (magneticpoetry.com)

-Next List, recommended reading from indie booksellers (indiebound.org/kids-indie-next-list)

-Write Away With Me, another fantastic creative writing program for kids half way around the world in Australia! (writeawaywithme.com)

- Alliance for Young Artists and Writers partners with the  Scholastic Art & Writing Awards to work with more than 100 visual and literary-arts focused organizations across the country to bring The Awards to local communities. Teens in grades 7 through 12 can apply in 28 categories of art and writing for the chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited or published

 

3 Responses to Writer Resources

  1. Astrid says:

    Hello,
    I’m wondering if you have workshops or after school programs in San Mateo county for 5th graders? If so, please let me know the contact info. Thanks! Hope to hear from you soon.

    Best,
    Astrid

    • admin says:

      Hi Astrid,

      Thank you so much for your interest in our programs! Unfortunately at this time we do not offer after school classes in San Mateo county, although it is certainly possibility in the future. What school do your kids attend in San Mateo? It’s often parents’ encouragement that enables us to start programs at new schools and we would love to look into working with the school system in your area!

      -“Take My Word For It!”

  2. Pingback: Writing blogs and websites we love | Take My Word For It